RSS

Pear and Cranberry Crisp

19 Nov

Right up front, I must note that I didn’t have dried cranberries on hand, so I substituted other things, which I’ll note below. During the prep, I thought the dry ingredients looked pretty:

Here’s the finished product:

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup old-fashioned rolled oats (not quick-cooking)
  • 1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons packed light-brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
  • 1/4 cup blanched almonds, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • [not in the original recipe, but I love nutmeg, so I grated some in the bowl. How much? Who knows!]
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine salt
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature [I didn’t want to wait for the butter to be the right consistency – I just melted it a bit in the microwave and everything turned out fine]
  • 3 pounds pears, such as Bartlett or Anjou (about 6), cored, peeled, and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped crystallized ginger (optional) [I used a generous squirt of prepared ginger in a tube from the supermarket – I’m lazy]
  • 1 cup dried cranberries [I didn’t have this, so I used some raspberries that were only going to be good for another day and some raisins for texture]
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a medium bowl, combine oats, 1/3 cup brown sugar, flour, almonds, cinnamon, and salt. With your hands or a pastry cutter, work in butter until large clumps form.
  2. In a large bowl, gently toss together pears, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, ginger (if using), cranberries, and cornstarch. Transfer to an 8-inch square baking dish and sprinkle with oat mixture.
  3. Bake until juices are bubbling and topping is browned and crisp, 20 minutes. Let cool 10 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Cook’s Note

A cool scoop of vanilla ice cream is the perfect accompaniment to this sweet crisp.

–recipe courtesy of Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food magazine, October 2011

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Pear and Cranberry Crisp

Leave a Reply

 
