RSS

Grandma Clark’s Soda Bread

31 Jan

This is another brilliant recipe from The Silver Palate Cookbook that I got as a gift from my mom.

  • 6 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 3 c. Unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1 Tbsp. Baking powder
  • 1 tsp Baking soda
  • 3/4 c. Granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 c. Dried currants [I didn’t have any, so I used yellow raisins]
  • 1 3/4 c. Buttermilk
  • 2 x Large eggs, well beaten
  • 1 Tbsp. Caraway seeds [I didn’t use these, but I would have if I had any – next time!]

Directions

  1. Smear 2T of the butter in a 10 inch cast iron skillet. [I don’t have a skillet this big, so I used a pie pan. However, my pan was smaller than 10 inches, so I baked it on a cookie sheet to catch the overflow] Line the skillet with a circle of waxed paper. Heat 2 more Tbsp. of butter in a separate pan and set aside.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  3. Sift dry ingredients together. Add in currants and toss well to coat.
  4. Whisk together the buttermilk, eggs, and melted butter. Add this to the dry ingredients, along with the caraway seeds if you are using them. Mix until blended, but don’t overmix.
  5. Spoon batter into the prepared skillet or possibly cake pan and smooth top gently with a spatula. Dot the top with remaining 2T butter.
  6. Bake till golden and puffed, about 60 minutes. Remove from oven and cool on a wire rack.
  7. Cut into wedges and serve hot.

–Recipe courtesy The Silver Palate Cookbook by Julee Rosso & Sheila Lukins

Finished soda bread:

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 31, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Grandma Clark’s Soda Bread

Leave a Reply

 
