RSS

Quinoa Salad

06 Feb

The Silver Palate Cookbook strikes again! I love bulgur salad recipes, and I wanted to try theirs. However, I discovered that we had no bulgur in the cabinet, but did have a plethora of other grains. I decided to swap quinoa for bulgur. It worked great!

I was also shocked that this recipe included no feta cheese. Maybe it was meant to be vegan? Of course I had to add some. I also de-veggified it more by cooking the quinoa in chicken broth.

Ingredients

  • 4 C. water [or chicken broth for extra flavor]
  • 2 C. bulgur (processed cracked wheat) [or quinoa]
  • 1 C. chopped pecans [I didn’t have enough pecans, so I did halfsies with pumpkin seeds]
  • 1 C. dried currants
  • 1/4 C. chopped Italian parsley
  • 1 T. best quality olive oil
  • grated zest of 1 medium-size orange [I also added the zest of a lemon]
  • [I also added 1 T. of orange juice and 1 T. of lemon juice]
  • [I also added 1 1/2 cups cups of crumbled feta cheese]
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Instructions

1. In a large saucepan combine water and bulgur[/quinoa]. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer, covered, for 35 to 40 minutes, or until water is absorbed and wheat is tender but not mushy.

2. Transfer to a bowl and refrigerate, uncovered, until cool.

3. Add pecans, currants, parsley, olive oil, orange zest, [lemon zest, orange juice, lemon juice, feta] salt and pepper to taste. Toss thoroughly. Serve cool or at room temperature.

Recipe courtesy the Silver Palate Cookbook by Julee Rosso and Sheila Lukins.

Finished product:

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
