RSS

Grandma Inez’s Pineapple Pie

20 Mar

I needed to make a pie for a party, and I remembered I had some frozen pineapple bits in the freezer from Trader Joe’s. A pineapple pie sounded yummy, so I Googled it and found someone’s Grandma’s recipe! I don’t think I’ve ever made a pie with meringue before, so this was my first try (I got to use my new KitchenAid mixer!). I liked how it initially turned out, but it quickly got a little weepy on the ride to the party. The pineapple part of the pie tasted good, but not sure about the meringue. Oh well – I guess I need more practice!

Ingredients

  • FOR THE PIE:
  • ¾ cups Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons Butter
  • 2 whole Eggs, Separated
  • ⅓ cups Cornstarch
  • ½ teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • ½ cups Plus 2 Tablespoons Of Water
  • 8 ounces, weight Canned Crushed Pineapple [I used frozen pineapple bits and a dash of sugar and water, to try to make up for the moisture that would have been in the canned pineapple]
  • 1 whole 9-inch Pre-baked Pie Crust
  • FOR THE MERINGUE:
  • 2 whole Egg Whites (from Separated Eggs Above)
  • ⅛ teaspoons Salt
  • ¼ teaspoons Cream Of Tartar
  • 6 Tablespoons Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla

Instructions

For the pie, cream sugar, butter, and egg yolks in a saucepan. Add cornstarch and vanilla. Add water and crushed pineapple. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly until thick. Pour into a 9″ baked pastry.

For the meringue, whip egg whites until they begin to get foamy. Add the remaining ingredients and continue to whip until the meringue has reached soft peak stage and is smooth and glossy. Place the meringue over the cooled pie. Brown at 400ºF for just a few minutes. Store in the fridge until ready to serve. Tastes great warm or cold.

–Recipe courtesy tastykitchen.com/Natalie’s Grandma Inez.

Finished product, before the weeping:

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
