RSS

Rustic Cabbage Soup with Cannellini Beans and Parmesan

27 Mar

I don’t remember how I found this recipe. I had a ton of bok choy from FFTY that I needed to use up, and I figured, it’s cabbage, right? I must have Googled cabbage recipes or something. It turned out to be very tasty; I was quite surprised. I think the thyme and bay leaf are what gave it that extra tasty flavor. I have an actual cabbage in my fridge that I need to use, as well as some potatoes; I may try this again!

Ingredients

  • 1 small cabbage [I used a bunch of huge bok choy instead]
  • 4 small potatoes, peeled [I used sweet potatoes]
  • 2 small turnips, tops and bottoms removed, no need to peel if using baby turnips and peeled if using larger turnip [I skipped this and added a couple stalks of celery instead]
  • 2 leeks, tops trimmed
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 4 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp fresh thyme
  • 1 bay leaf
  • parmesan rind [didn’t have this, sadly]
  • 1 15 oz can cannellini beans, or 2 cups of cooked cannellini beans
  • 5 cups vegetable stock [I used chicken stock]

Instructions

Halve the leeks lengthwise, slice crosswise into 1/2″ pieces. Transfer to a large bowl filled with cold water and let stand until dirt and sand falls to the bottom. Rinse thoroughly and drain in a colander. Trim and core the cabbage, slice in half and slice into 1/4″ ribbons and half crosswise. Halve potatoes and cut into a 1/2″ dice. Halve turnips and cut into a 1/2″ dice.

In a dutch oven, heat the olive oil and butter over medium heat. Add onions and garlic, stir, and cover and let sweat for 5 minutes. Add bay leaf and fresh thyme, stir for 1 minute. Add vegetable stock and bring to a boil, plop in the parmesan rind. Add potatoes, turnips, leeks, and cabbage. Season with salt and pepper. Reduce heat and simmer for 25 minutes. Add cooked cannellini beans to the soup and simmer for 10 minutes. Sometimes the rind will dissolve into the soup, if it did not dissolve, simple fish it out with a slotted spoon before serving. Serve hot with grated parmesan on top and alongside toasted crusty bread.

–Recipe courtesy http://plateandpour.blogspot.com.

Finished soup:

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
