RSS

Cold Beet and Cucumber Soup

03 May

The idea of cold soup has never much appealed to me, but my mom asked me to make this Julia Child soup for a dinner at the parents’, so I did. I used Chioggia beets, hence the mellow coloring. I didn’t have any beet juice and, upon some searching, didn’t easily find any for sale, so I used some Bloody Mary mix I had in the fridge. It turned out fine, but I wonder if it didn’t amp up the sweetness a little too much. I enjoyed the nice zing of the horseradish, though. I thought it needed a little bit of protein-based oomph, so I sprinkled goat cheese on top instead of sour cream. Viva Julia!

Ingredients

  • 4 medium beets, trimmed
  • 3 to 4 scallions, chopped
  • 1 cucumber, peeled, seeded, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon grated fresh horseradish
  • 1 tablespoon wine vinegar
  • 1 cup beet juice [I used Bloody Mary mix]
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper

Garnish:

  • 1 cup sour cream [I used goat cheese]
  • Handful fresh dill sprigs [didn’t use]

Directions

Cook beets in large pot of boiling water until very tender and knife pierces through to the center easily, about 50 minutes. Drain beets; cool slightly. Peel and coarsely chop.

Transfer beets, scallions, cucumbers, horseradish, and wine vinegar to food processor. Add some of the liquids to blend. Puree, but not too fine. Thin to desired consistency with beet juice and broth. Transfer to bowl, season, and chill several hours. Check seasoning before serving. Pour into individual bowls and garnish with spoonful of sour cream and sprinkling of dill. Can be made up to 3 days in advance, covered, chilled.

–Recipe courtesy Julia Child/Food Network.

Finished soup:

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
