RSS

Kumquat Pie

23 May

When my parents went out of town, as per usual they gave me a bunch of food to take so it wouldn’t go bad while they were gone. Unusually, they gave me a bunch of kumquats. I remember not enjoying kumquats much when my grandpa used to grow them (he grew many things I enjoyed – apples, walnuts, honey – and many I didn’t – persimmons, figs, kumquats) so I didn’t know what I was going to do with these kumquats. Then I did some Googling and ran across this recipe. However, the first few versions I found were full of things like Cool Whip. I searched for a while and found this one with fewer overly processed ingredients. I did acquiesce to using a premade pie crust though. It was a great pie!

Ingredients

Crust: [I just used a premade crust, didn’t bother with this]

  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

Filling:

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/3 cup pureed kumquat rinds [I pureed the whole kumquats, though I had to pick out a bunch of seeds when I was done]
  • 1 -14 oz can condensed milk
  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1 -8 oz package cream cheese, room temperature

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Stir the sour cream and butter together in a bowl, then mix in the flour. (Don’t over mix or the texture will be tough.) Form a dough ball and refrigerate for just a few minutes. Lightly flour a work surface, and roll the dough into a medium thick crust. Place the piecrust dough in a 9-inch pie plate and prick the bottom of the crust with a fork. Bake the crust for about 20 minutes or until just golden brown. Remove from the oven to cool.

With an electric mixer, beat the cream and sugar until the mixture is light, fluffy and holds its shape when the beaters are removed. Add the kumquat rinds, condensed milk, juices and cream cheese beating until well combined and thickened. Scoop the mixture into the cooled pie shell and refrigerate, lightly covered with foil or plastic, until set, 2 to 3 hours.

–Recipe courtesy Cooking the Cowboy Way, by Grady Spears via Drick’s Rambling Cafe.

Finished pie (yes a piece is missing):

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
