RSS

Meyer Lemon Pudding

07 Jun

I was raised eating Meyer lemons from my parents’ tree. I consider them the “real” lemons, even though they’re the “special” lemons, not “real” lemons. Recently, my parents were out of town and I noticed their tree was out of control with lemons (a normal California “problem”). I went to the back of the tree and collected as many as I felt like (a shopping bag full, and hardly made a dent) I gave some away, but I made a bunch of lemon-related dishes including this recipe.

I also grew up eating Dutch Baby pancakes once a week, and generally we had Meyer lemons and nutmeg on top, so to me leaving the nutmeg out of anything lemon would be just wrong. Therefore, I added nutmeg to this pudding (How much? I don’t know, a nice grating). Some people will be weirded out by this, but I love it!

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 2 1/2 cups whole milk
  • 3 extra large egg yolks, lightly beaten
  • 2 tablespoons finely grated Meyer lemon zest [I used a ton more]
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup freshly squeezed Meyer lemon juice [I used a ton more]
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter at room temperature
  • [I grated some nutmeg into the pudding]
  • [whipped cream for serving]

Instructions

In a medium saucepan, whisk together the sugar and cornstarch.  Add the milk, egg yolks, zest, and salt and whisk until smooth.  Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently at first and constantly toward the end, until thickened.

Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the citrus juice and butter [and nutmeg].  Place a fine mesh sieve over a large bowl and pour the mixture through the strainer.  Divide the mixture into 6 serving dishes and let cool to room temperature.  Refrigerate, loosely covered (tightly covered will trap too much moisture, making a watery pudding) for at least 3 hours and up to 3 days.  Serve chilled by itself or with lightly sweetened whipped cream.

–Recipe courtesy The Galley Gourmet.

Yum! The little flecks are the nutmeg.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
