RSS

Edamame Soup with Smoky Mushrooms

30 Jul
Woody loves edamame, so when I came across this recipe, I knew I had to try it for him. Also, I have plenty of kombu now that I bought it for Agedashi Tofu purposes. I also tried adding some bonito flakes, like I do with the AT, but I think that was going too far – it got really fishy tasting. Next time I probably wouldn’t do that. Also, a lot of the moisture boiled off in the process and the soup wasn’t very soupy. I had to add water to the blender to get it to work, and even then it still wasn’t very soupy. I realize now that I also forgot to add the lemon juice, which might have helped considerably. Woody seemed to enjoy it though, so I considered it a win.

Ingredients

  • 4 cups water
  • One 3-inch piece kombu (Japanese kelp)
  • One 2-inch piece fresh ginger, scraped and sliced into ½-inch-thick coins
  • 2 garlic cloves, smashed
  • 1 pound frozen edamame (shelled green soybeans)
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 2 teaspoons grapeseed oil
  • 8 ounces oyster mushrooms (or cremini mushrooms), ends trimmed
  • Smoked salt [I don’t have this frou-frou item, I didn’t worry about it]
  • 2 lemon wedges

Directions

  1. Bring the water, kombu, ginger and garlic to a gentle simmer in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Simmer for 30 minutes, then use a slotted spoon to remove the kombu, ginger and garlic.
  2. Add the frozen edamame to the broth and gently simmer over medium heat for 30 minutes. Cool for 10 minutes, then transfer to a blender and purée until smooth (purée in batches if necessary). Return the puréed soup to the saucepan and season with the kosher salt.
  3. Heat a medium skillet over high heat for 1½ minutes. Add the grapeseed oil and mushrooms. Quickly shake the skillet to coat the mushrooms with oil, then let the mushrooms brown, without moving them, for about 2 minutes. Shake the pan and cook until the mushrooms are tender, about 1 minute longer.
  4. Turn the mushrooms out onto a plate and season with the smoked salt. Warm the soup over medium heat, stirring often, then divide among bowls. Squeeze a few drops of lemon juice over each serving, top with smoky mushrooms and serve.

–Recipe courtesy Tasting Table.

Finished soup (not very soupy):

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
