RSS

Miso Butterscotch

01 Aug

I love a good miso soup. When I came across this recipe in a NYTM article about miso, I had to try it. I had it in my archives for a while and forgot about it. Luckily I just remembered it existed because it turned out to be so amazingly good. Their main idea seems to be that you’d use this in savory applications, but for me I can only see it being used on desserts. I tried it on a piece of bacon, though, and that worked really well too. On toast it’s OK, but that doesn’t seem to be what it’s best for. It’s so easy to make, I highly recommend the extra trip to the Asian grocery to get some miso!

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup cream
  • 6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, cut into pieces [per their “possible additions” suggestion below, I used about 4 tablespoons of butter and 2 tablespoons of sesame oil]
  • 1/4 cup miso (red miso is a bit salty for truly sweet applications) [they say this, but I thought red miso was AWESOME in the sauce on plain frozen yogurt; I think it’s a matter of taste]
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar

Instructions

  1. Combine the cream and butter in a small saucepan, and cook over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, until the butter melts.
  2. Stir in the miso and sugar and cook, stirring frequently, until the mixture is slightly thickened and shiny, 5 to 10 minutes. Taste and add a little more sugar if you think it’s too salty.
  3. Use right away or refrigerate, well covered, for up to 1 week and rewarm before using to loosen it up.

Possible additions: Chopped nuts; sesame oil instead of butter; honey instead of brown sugar.

Possible uses: On poached pears or apples; marinade for meat; braising base for sturdy vegetables like cabbage, eggplant, turnips or new potatoes; sundae sauce — especially over fruit ice creams or sorbets.

–Recipe courtesy The New York Times Magazine (check the story for more miso recipes).

As a sauce for frozen yogurt (I went a little overboard with the amount used):

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Miso Butterscotch

Leave a Reply

 
